The World Sudoku Championship – What You Should Know?

about sudoku

With over millions of people playing the puzzle game every day as a hobby or as their favourite pass time, only a few from across the world play the puzzle game with a serious passion. The World Sudoku Championship is an international competition organised by the World Puzzle Federation for all Sudoku lovers who wish to play the game in the championship to win the Title. This International puzzle competition is held in different countries and includes over 100 puzzles that are need to be solved by the competitors over the various rounds and levels in the championship. Although not every country has professional sudoku players, the prize money associated with these championships is commendable. This is one of the major attractions that makes all sudoku lovers to participate in the competition.

About the World Sudoku Championship

First held in Lucca, in the year 2006, the World Sudoku Championship has been successfully held every year since then in different places. A member belonging to the World Puzzle Federation organizes the competition every year. National teams of different nations compete in the championship to win the title. The championship includes various rounds and levels, each level helping to bring forth the probable winners of the championship. With every round and level, the difficulty level of the puzzle increases, finally bring the final competitors to the classic Sudoku level. The qualifying players make it to the next levels, finally playing the last puzzle to win the championship. The examples of these Competition rounds include: Relay round (the answer from the first puzzle contributes to the digits that help start the next round of Sudoku puzzle.) The World Record Round allows the solvers to compete with each other to set the fastest record to solve the sudoku puzzle.

Until now, a total of 13 championships have been held and Japan’s Kota Morinishi has been the most successful winner till date by winning 5 titles (2007, 2012, 2014, 2015 and 2018). The other renowned Sudoku solvers who have won the competition are Thomas Snyder (United States in the years 2007, 2008 and 2011) and Jan Mrozowski (Poland 2009, 2010 and 2012).
The other countries who have won the title are Czech Republic which won the titles in the year 2008 and 2016; Germany won the championship in the years (2010 and 2011); China won in the years 2013 and 2017, while Slovakia won just once in 2009.

Lessons to Learn from World Sudoku Championships

If you are aspiring to compete in Sudoku competitions, here are some lessons that you can follow to win and improve your game.

  1. Practice with a variety of sudoku puzzles. All tournaments have a variety of puzzles to check the ability of the competitors.
  2. Read the Competition Conditions Carefully. Every competition has a different set of conditions.
  3. Try and break your own record. Better yourself with every sudoku you solve.
  4. Set the title as your goal and work hard to achieve it.
  5. Check for the tips that are usually shared by the experts in interviews and videos. They are really helpful.